Will the judgment controversy go away? The ‘3-foot line’ rule changed in the second half, how


The Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) applies the supplemented 3-foot line rule in the second half. An out is declared if the batter-runner’s running on the inside of the 3-foot line causes interference with a throw as well as a catch.

The KBO announced on the 20th, “Due to the recent controversy over the 3-foot line judgment, we plan to apply the 3-foot line defensive obstruction regulations in detail from the second half of the 2023 season.”

The 3-foot line is a line about 91.4 cm (3 feet) outside the second half of the baseline between home plate and first base. Indicates the range of runs allowed when a batter runner runs from home plate to first base.

KBO applies the supplemented 3-foot line rule from the second half of this year. If the umpire judges that the batter runner’s running on the inside of the 3-foot line clearly caused interference with the catch or throw, the umpire judges it as defensive interference.

Under the 3-foot line rule previously applied in the KBO, if the umpire judged that the batter-runner crossed the 3-foot line and interfered with the first baseman handling the throw, it was ruled out. In other words, if the batter runner’s running inside interferes with the first baseman’s catch, it is judged as defensive interference.

In the existing rule, if the umpire made a decision based on whether the batter runner interfered with the catch, the supplemented rule included interference with the throw. It is believed that the batter runner’s running on the inside can interfere not only with the catch, but also with the throw, and also leads to interference with the defense.안전놀이터

The Gwangju Samsung Lions-KIA Tigers match held on the 13th is an appropriate example. At the beginning of the 3rd inning, batter runner Jose Pirella hit a ground ball and ran inside the foul line, and first baseman Choi Won-joon failed to catch pitcher Yang Hyeon-jong’s bad throw. The referee checked whether Pirella’s catch was obstructed according to the existing regulations, and as a result, it was judged to be Yang Hyeon-jong’s bad throw and declared safe after video reading.

If Pirella’s run is judged by the supplemented rule, the umpire may consider it an act of obstruction of throwing and make an out decision.

Meanwhile, the KBO reviewed the opinion that it should be applied as an exception because when a batter runner steps on the base with his right foot, his left foot can inevitably invade the 3-foot line, but did not accept it. Since this is not allowed under international rules (MLB, NPB), it does not apply in the KBO League either.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top